Shiraz Stars for 2017 announced

Shiraz Stars for 2017

A dozen remarkable Shiraz wines and three impressive Shiraz blends captured the limelight during the fifth annual Shiraz Challenge awards ceremony held on 31 May at the Rhebokskloof Wine Estate in Paarl. Fans of this noble cultivar can safely set their sights on these front-runners when next they find themselves facing the extensive range of wines on the shelf of any retail space.

SA Shiraz chairperson Edmund Terblanche

According to SA Shiraz chairperson Edmund Terblanche, some 220 wines vied for inclusion in the top echelon – a steady climb of entries since the inception of the competition in 2013. “Initially we focused only on Shiraz, but soon after we invited winemakers to put forward their best blends as we see this competition as an encompassing celebration of Shiraz,” he says. “We’ve witnessed consistent growth in the blends category – not only for the Rhône style, but for all compositions where Shiraz remains the leading component.”

Flagstone Winemaker, Gerhard Swart

And 2017’s top Shiraz wines are, Cederberg Shiraz 2015, D’Aria The Soprano Shiraz 2015, Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2014, Fairview Beacon Shiraz 2014, Fairview Swartland Shiraz 2014, Flagstone Dark Horse Shiraz 2013, KWV Cathedral Cellar Shiraz 2015,

Fairview’s Anthony de Jager

La Motte Pierneef Syrah Viognier 2015, Rustenberg Buzzard Kloof Syrah 2015, Saronsberg Shiraz 2015, Strandveld Syrah 2013 and Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve Shiraz  2015.

The top 3 Shiraz blends are, Bellingham The Bernard Series SMV 2014, Rustenberg Stellenbosch RM Nicholson 2015, Saronsberg Full Circle 2015.

Niël Groenewald, Bellingham Wine Maker

Attendees of the award ceremony had the opportunity to taste the 25 Shiraz finalists and the top 10 Shiraz blends and the winners were served with lunch.

Judging line-up
Eight esteemed judges took responsibility for the stringent adjudication process, with Dr Andy Roediger at the helm. Which started for him as a lightweight interest in wine and a consequent wine course at the Wine Academy, had led to producing his own Garagiste wines and completing his Cape Wine Master thesis on Phenolic ripeness in South Africa. Roediger shares his expertise with many leading wine producers by carrying out phenolic ripeness analyses on a commercial basis in his laboratory.

Charles Hopkins, De Grendel Cellarmaster

The rest of the judging line-up included Charles Hopkins (De Grendel cellar master), Cathy van Zyl (British Master of Wine), Pearl Oliver (head sommelier at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town), Edmund Terblanche (La Motte cellar master and Shiraz SA chairperson), Samarie Smit (wine writer and editor of Die Burger: Versnit and regular judge at Veritas and the SA Young Wine Show) and Maryna Huysamen (Cape Wine Makers Guild protégé). Huysamen’s inclusion serves as training to provide exposure for future judges.

International wine judge Claus Fischer joined the team for the first time. Fischer applies his academic background in chemistry in the wine environment, having focused amongst others on the development of an aroma wheel for German wines. Fischer remarked about the impressive speed of the tastings which delivered such high standard, in-depth scorings.

The marketing and sales of mixed batches of the winning wines will be handled by CyberCellar. Visit them on if you’re a Shiraz fan and need to augment your wine stash.

Shiraz SA thanks the following collaborators for their contribution in the execution of this authoritative competition: Nederburg for the venue, Wine MS for the specially developed programme, Deloitte & Touche for the auditing of the results and Grand Cru Glassware for the trophies. Every winner also receives 2 000 stickers sponsored by Coastal Labels.

Contact Sandra Lotz for more information at 082 924 7254 or

Information from Yolandi de Wet PR

June 2nd, 2017|Categories: Michael's Writings|Tags: , |