Nuy Winery Cellar Master crowned as Worcester/Breedekloof Winemaker of the Year 2016

winemaker-of-the-year-worcesterbreedekloof-2016klnNuy Winery Cellar Master, Christo Pienaar

Nuy Winery Cellar Master, Christo Pienaar, was crowned as Worcester/Breedekloof Winemaker of the Year 2016 on Friday 2 December.  This event is proudly sponsored by Brenn-O-Kem, a company specialising in transforming winery waste into value-added natural products used in the wine industry, pharmaceutical industry and other markets since 1968.
This sought after award, now in its fifth year in its current format, is awarded annually to a winemaker in the Worcester/Breedekloof area. “It is nice to measure your wines against other wines from the same region.  We are all working with more or less the same nature elements, this is what makes this competition so unique,” says Pienaar.

nuyAn artist’s impression of the new Nuy Cellar

Second place was awarded to C.P. Conradie from Conradie Penhill and the third place was won by Stettyn Cellar.
Competition format and judging
The format of the competition work as follows; each cellar enters three to five wines that are sold in their tasting room.

There are eight categories in which the wines are judged; Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, red- and white blends, Pinotage, Cabernet Sauvignon and fortified wines.

The independent judging panel has five members who all taste the wines blind where after the Top 5 wines in every category are selected.

The winemaker who has the most points in the different categories is awarded “Winemaker of the Year.”
This year’s judges were
Tom Block (Convener) – Cape Wine Master
Nina-Mari Bruwer – Cape Wine Master
Danie Marais – Winemaker at Windmeul Cellars
Francois van Niekerk – Winemaker at Wellington Wines
Cobie Viljoen – Consultant Winemaker in Hermanus