2019 FNB Sauvignon Blanc Top 10 announced this week…

The Winners of the 2019 FNB Sauvignon Blanc Top 10

Sauvignon Blanc South Africa and FNB have revealed the winners of the 2019 FNB Sauvignon Blanc Top 10 competition with no less than eight out of the 10 victors being from the 2019 vintage. This exciting result for South Africa’s only competition exclusively devoted to Sauvignon Blanc emerged at a gala awards dinner on Wednesday 9 October, held at the FNB Portside building in Cape Town. 

Here are the prize winners

Front l to r: Wimpie Borman (Groote Post), Rudger van Wyk (Stark-Condé), Anneri Duminy (Stark-Condé), Mari Branders (Diemersdal), Morgan Steyn (De Grendel), Julius Moleleki (De Grendel), R.J. Botha (Sauvignon Blanc SA Chairperson), Arno Cloete (FNB).

Middle l to r: Magnus Kriel (Merwida), Juandré Bruwer (Diemersdal), Tim Whitfield (Tokara), Stuart Botha (Tokara), David Nieuwoudt (Cederberg).

Back l to r: Leon Dippenaar (Du Toitskloof), Shaun Thomson (Du Toitskloof), Tiaan Loubser (Du Toitskloof), Schalk van der Merwe (Merwida), Lukas Wentzel (Groote Post), Anthony Kock (Spier), Stephan Claassen (FNB), Geoff McIver (Lomond), David Mostert (Lomond), Werner du Toit (FNB), Jacques Erasmus (Spier).

De Grendel Koetshuis Sauvignon Blanc 2019, a wooded wine  

The winners in alphabetical order were

  • Cederberg Ghost Corner Sauvignon Blanc 2019  
  • De Grendel Koetshuis Sauvignon Blanc 2019        (Wooded)
  • Diemersdal Winter Ferment Sauvignon Blanc 2019            
  • Du Toitskloof Land’s End Sauvignon Blanc 2018 (Wooded)
  • Groote Post Seasalter Sauvignon Blanc 2019       (Wooded)
  • Lomond Sauvignon Blanc 2019  
  • Merwida Sauvignon Blanc 2019 
  • Spier Ideology Sauvignon Blanc 2019      
  • Stark-Condé Round Mountain Sauvignon Blanc 2018 (Wooded)
  • Tokara Reserve Collection Elgin Sauvignon Blanc 2019 (Wooded)    

Dr Winifred Bowman CWM

The judging panel this year comprised Dr Winifred Bowman, Cape Wine Master and convenor of the panel; Charles Hopkins of De Grendel; Dr Carien Coetzee of Basic Wine; wine judge and writer Fiona McDonald and Wilhelm Pienaar of Hermanuspietersfontein. The panel also included trainee judges Ben Snyman of Overhex Wines, Chandre Petersen of Flagstone Winery, Morgan Steyn of De Grendel and Rudger van Wyk of Starke-Condé Wines.

For more information – CLICK HERE

Information from Yolandi de Wet PR